I’m back, dear reader, with this perversion: The grilled cheese with bacon and egg

P1000621I have never been one of those dainty women who finishes half a sandwich and then announces, “That was delicious! I think I’ll save the other half for later.” Rather, perhaps my cup of soup and the first half of the sandwich and a side salad will tamp down enough hunger for me to slowly savor that remaining half. Maybe. Pregnancy definitely raises the hunger level to crazed-animal proportions, and to me, now in my 8th month, a grilled cheese sandwich sounded like just the amount of richness I craved, but let’s be honest—I was going to need a little something more to fill me up.

It was a classic you-dropped-your-chocolate-in-my-peanut-butter moment as I scanned the fridge for ideas: Eggs! Why not an egg inside that grilled cheese sandwich?

Some leftover bacon and a slice of tomato later, and I had completed my Frankensandwich: The grilled cheese with bacon and egg, fried in plenty of butter, and tasting deliciously of the skillet on the inside and out. I might actually make it to snack time on this one.

2 thoughts on “I’m back, dear reader, with this perversion: The grilled cheese with bacon and egg

Leave a Reply

