Happy new year!

I know many of you think my life is all butter and red meat, but I really love beans, so much. Get ready for some bean ideas this year.

I know many of you think my life is all butter and red meat, but I really love beans, so much. Get ready for some bean ideas this year.

Hi everyone, I hope that you’ve all had a great holiday season with a whole lot fewer virulent flu-like illnesses than we have had over here. (Yes, we got our shots, and yes, I think you still should, too, if you haven’t yet.) But projectile-vomiting be damned, I missed you all, and so here I am.

And I was thrilled to receive two reader questions just in the past 24 hours! I love to hear what you want from me. For example:

1. We need more tips about feeding families! Good idea! I will indeed have a lot more family-friendly meals posted here in the weeks to come. In this case, the asker was also looking for picky-eater tips, and ideas for getting more veggies into kids. I offered this idea: Figure out if your kid is a cooked or raw vegetable eater. Many kids fall into one of those categories. Then, follow this other Ellyn Satter-inspired principle of offering a new, but similiar thing, alongside the acceptable thing, without comment or cajoling. Your kid loves celery and carrot sticks, for example? Put out some raw green beans or sugar snaps right along with them. They might get ignored, but then, if you (pretend to) ignore whether or not your kid eats them, he or she may surprise you and take a nibble.

2. What are some fun recipes for a ton of lovely parsley?! [sic] Funny you should ask, dear reader*, because I am working on a blog post for later this week that just happens to use a ton of parley! Stay tuned!

*okay, it’s my sister

2 thoughts on “Happy new year!

  1. Along with the feeding families question, any suggestions for good meals that freeze for posterity? I have a freezer full of chili, stew (chicken and beef), and chicken soup. Suggestions for more diversity are welcome!

Leave a Reply

