I love this book

The cooling weather brought our first pot pie of the season last weekend, the absolutely delightful lamb pie from British chef Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s River Cottage Family Cookbook. I found this book back when I was reviewing cookbooks for Gourmet. I lobbied hard for it to be our book-of-the-month, but I was out-voted in favor of a book I can’t even remember now.

Meanwhile, in my kitchen, this book has stood the test of time. My kids are too young to read along with the recipes themselves, but they still love looking at the photos, and I love the real recipes that don’t pander to immature palates. Truth be told, both kids have yet to get into that lamb pie, so I usually end up roasting some carrots or serving some crowd-pleasing greens alongside. But I have to think that a dish that my husband and I love that much, coming from a book geared towards families, is proof enough that the book is worth its weight in salt.

Leave a Reply

